Regular Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District Board of Trustees April 4, 2023 5:30 p.m.

Board Members in person
Dr. Ed Sivak, President
Letitia S. Johnson, Member
Cynthia Thompson, Member
Frank Figgers, Member

Attorneys and Administrative Staff
Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent
Dorian Turner, Board Attorney
Larrissa Moore, ESQ., General Counsel
Dr. Michael Cormack, Deputy Supt.
Earl Burke, Chief Operations Officer
William M. Merritt, IV., Chief of Staff
Elem., Middle & High School Asst. Supt.

Board Members via Teleconference Barbara Hilliard, Vice-President Dr. Robert Luckett, Board Member

Board Members Absent
Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston, Member

Secretary to the Board Rosalind Williams

- I. <u>Call to Order:</u> Dr. Ed Sivak, Board President, called the Regular Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District to order on April 4, 2023, at 5:35 P. M.
- II. <u>Establishment of Quorum:</u> A quorum was established as six (6) members, namely, Dr. Ed Sivak, Dr. Robert Luckett, Frank Figgers, Barbara Hilliard, Letitia S. Johnson, and Cynthia Thompson were present or participated via video/teleconference. Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston was absent from the meeting.
- III. Adoption of Agenda: Letitia Johnson moved that the Board amend the agenda to pull Policy FH from section VII-c of the policy review; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none.
- IV. Reading and Approving of the Minutes:

 March 21, 2023, Regular Board Meeting Minutes: The Board voted to approve item a. Cynthia Thompson moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- V. <u>Superintendent's Report</u>:
- VI. Public Participation for General Comments and/or Proposed Policy Issues:
- VII. Information Only Item (s):
 - a. Finance Committee Meeting updates:
 - b. Bond/ESSER Update:
 - c. Review of Various Policies: DJ Activity Fund (Procedures), DIER Vendor Protest and Grievance (Procedures); DIA- Authorized Signatures, DOD Cellular Phone Usage (Procedures), DID- Travel Reimbursement Request, DEGE Fees, ECC Field Trips (Procedures), EFB Property Insurance, EI Energy Management, GACK Use of Personal and District Vehicles, GBEM Drug and Alcohol (Policy & Procedures), JBI Grade & Subject Placement,

JKAD - Student Safety BFA - Public Records, and EBAB - Emergency Drills (Policies & Procedures.

VIII. Information/Action Item(s):

- a. Approval of the Agreement between McGraw Hill-Achieve3000 (RFP 2022-25)

 and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD): The Board voted to
 approve item a. Letitia Johnson moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes
 cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers, Letitia
 Johnson, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the
 motion: none. PASSED
- b. Approval to Award RFP 2023-01, and the Approval of the Agreement between The Children's Defense Fund and Jackson Public School District (JPSD):
 The Board voted to approve item b. Cynthia Thompson moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- c. Approval of Grant Agreement between the Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD): The Board voted to approve item c. Frank Figgers moved; Letitia Johnson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

IX. Consent Agenda Items - Finance:

- a. Approval of Donations Office Finance and Operations: The Board voted to approve item a. Frank Figgers moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none.

 PASSED
- b. Approval to Award Bid 3219 (03-10-23) ESSER Renovations to John Hopkins Elementary: The Board voted to approve item b. Frank Figgers moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. **PASSED**
- c. Approval of Various Disbursements from Accounts Payable and Activity Funds: The Board voted to approve item c. Frank Figgers moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Dr. Luckett, Frank Figgers, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson and Barbara Hilliard; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED

X. <u>Consent Agenda Items - Personnel</u>:

- a. Approval of Staff Personnel Matter: The Board voted to approve Staff Personnel as presented. Letitia Johnson moved; Barbara Hilliard seconded; votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Frank Figgers, Barbara Hilliard, Letitia Johnson, Cynthia Thompson and Dr. Luckett; votes cast against the motion: none. PASSED
- XI. Consideration to Hold Executive Session: None
- XII. <u>Adjourn</u>: Cynthia Thompson moved, and Frank Figgers seconded the motion, to adjourn the meeting. The motion was unanimously approved and the meeting was adjourned at 6:38 p.m.

Ed Sivak, Board President

4 18 2023 Date
4 18 2023
Date